

## **Agenda**

## Third Meeting of the All-Party Parliamentary Group on Axial Spondyloarthritis (January 2020)

THIRD MEETING OF THE APPG ON AXIAL SPONDYLOARTHRITIS:		
Reducing the current 8.5-year delay to diagnosis		
1.	<b>Start of Meeting</b> Welcome and introductions from Derek Thomas MP (APPG Chair), Lord Campbell-Savours (APPG Co-Chair) and Dr Dale Webb (Chief Executive of the National Axial Spondyloarthritis Society)	
	(Lord Campbell-Savours and Derek Thomas MP to set out the scope of the meeting, provide a brief overview of the agenda and remind attendees of progress achieved in 2019. Dale Webb to summarise the recommendations of the FOI inquiry and next steps for the report.)	(10 minutes)
PRESENTATIONS		
2.	Presentation 1: Zoe Clark  Zoe to provide attendees with an overview of the realities of living with Axial SpA and her own experiences of delayed diagnosis.	17:10 (5 minutes)
3.	Presentation 2: Dr James Prior (Lecturer in Epidemiology, Keele University) Dr Prior to present an overview of new findings from a systematic review which provides latest available data into the delay of Axial SpA diagnosis in the UK and how this compares with other countries.	17:15 (10 minutes)
4.	Presentation 3: Becky Adshead (Specialist Physiotherapist, Whipps Cross Hospital) Becky to provide attendees with a summary of the groundbreaking work that the rheumatology team at Whipps Cross have been taking forward to reduce delay to diagnosis and improve outcomes in Axial SpA.	17:25 (10 minutes)
5.	Presentation 4: Dr Raj Sengupta (Consultant Rheumatologist, Royal National Hospital for Rheumatic Diseases, Bath) Dr Sengupta to provide a presentation detailing a new innovative 'Diagnosis in Axial SpA' gold standard as a draft.	17:35 (15 minutes)
GROUP DISCUSSION		
6.	<b>Question &amp; Answer Session</b> Derek Thomas MP and Lord Campbell-Savours to facilitate questions and answers from the audience on the two presentations	17:50 (30 minutes)
7.	Summary of Next Steps  Derek Thomas MP and Lord Campbell-Savours to set out next steps	18:20 (10 minutes)
8.	Close of event  Derek Thomas MP and Lord Campbell-Savours to provide closing comments and summary of next steps	18:30